ECO Science Foundation and Sukkur IBA University sign MoU for Capacity Building in STEM Education through IBSE in ECO Region

Go Back


A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between ECO Science Foundation (ECOSF) and Sukkur IBA University (SIBAU) at the Sukkur IBA University, Sukkur on January 20, 2020 for capacity building and promotion of STEM education through Inquiry Based Science Education (IBSE) methodology in Pakistan, other countries of ECO region and beyond.

MoU signing was witnessed by the Chairman Higher Education Commission (HEC) of Pakistan- Dr. Tariq Banuri and officials from China Association for Science and Technology (CAST)- another international collaborators of ECOSF.

Under the MoU, both the organizations will collaborate for joint activities on IBSE, support the pilot programmes and organize national professional development sessions for teachers and educators in ECO region including Pakistan. Follow-up the dissemination in each country involved, especially the professional developments activities organised by trained educators for the benefit of teachers and schools and pursue the aim of mobilising the Academies of Science in ECO countries; especially identify in each Academy a dedicated contact person for the purpose of communicating and collaborating with the parties would also be collaborated under the MoU. Other salient aspects of the MoU are to grant permission to educational authorities and their staff to use and adapt the materials produced by ECOSF and SIBAU as well as other related methodological and pedagogical documents, freely available on the websites of both the organizations.

The MoU was signed during the opening of 5-day Capacity Building Workshop on Inquiry Based Science Education (IBSE) in Pakistan under the framework of Belt and Road International Science Education Coordinating Committee (BRISECC). The workshop was jointly organized by ECO Science Foundation (ECOSF), Sukkur IBA University (SIBAU) and Children and Youth Science Center (CYSC) of CAST – China.

ECO Science Foundation © All rights reserved.