The 20th Council of Ministers' Meeting

Go Back


The 20th Meeting of Council of Ministers (COM) of the Economic Cooperation (ECO) was held in Baku, the Republic of Azerbaijan on 15th October 2012. The meeting was attended by delegations of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, The Republic of Azerbaijan, The Islamic Republic of Iran, The Republic of Kazakhstan, The Kyrgyz Republic, The Islamic Republic of Pakistan, The Republic of Tajikistan, The Republic of Turkey, Turkmenistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan. The representatives of ECO Specialized Agencies and Regional Institutions participated at the Meeting. Prof. Dr. Manzoor Hussain Soomro represented the ECO Science Foundation (ECOSF) as its President-designate. ECOSF is one of the main specialized agency of the ECO. Also the representatives of IDB, UNDP, ADB, Turkish Cypriot State and the Cooperation Council of the Turkish Speaking States (CCTS) were presented in the Meeting as guests.

The Meeting was inaugurated with the statement of H.E Ahmet Davutoglu, Foreign Ministry of The Republic of Turkey as the Chairman of previous meeting and appreciated the progress made since the last COM held in The Republic of Turkey. Then the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Azerbaijan H.E Mr. Elmar Mammadyarov was elected as the chairman. The Secretary General, the Heads of the Member States and the guests delivered their speeches. Bilateral meetings were also held among the Ministers and Heads of Delegation.

The Council considered new memberships to ECOBANK and its activities, implementation of ECOTA, various ECO Road and Railway Projects, Energy Cooperation, Food Security, Implementation of Millennium Development Goals of UNMDG, the recommendation of Eminent Person Group (EPG) and reconstruction of Afghanistan.

ECO Science Foundation © All rights reserved.